• Wei

Wei-Sean's Autobiography

Updated: Jan 28



A look into the life I've lived.

Nomad / Athlete / Musician / Artist / Freelancer / Entrepreneur / US Air Force Veteran



Born in China, adopted and immediately moved to Los Angeles before growing up in different places around the world. While Track & Field sparked my interest at an early age, I quickly found a passion for music and have become a lifelong student of the arts. I have performed in hard-core metal bands in the Philippines, competed aggressively in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu and MMA, a veteran of the US Air Force, and currently working in the tech industry of Silicon Valley while simultaneously pursuing my musical journey as a DJ/Producer as well as fostering my creative entrepreneurial spirit.



WEi As A Musician

At 13 years old and growing up in Tampa, I taught myself how to play the guitar using online resources for guitar tabs. At that time I was going to Friday night Chinese Christian Baptist youth church services where I started to get into the youth worship team. When I first started High School at 14 I began playing with a couple friends in bands that we started ourselves, thats when my style really began to change. I started learning how to play lead parts during my free time, but before we could really get our foot in the ground, It was then that I moved to the Philippines.


In the Philippines I was able to get back into practicing as I had my guitar with me. Eventually I was playing in a couple bands while living in a Minor Seminary boarding school for a year and attending 2 separate private Catholic High School for an accumulative 2.5 years. I was playing in punk cover bands as their lead Guitarist, and for one that stood out, we were writing lyrics for our personal compositions and being noticed by the Philippines Battle of the Bands national competition. While in the Philippines I had to do some moving around, but eventually I was living in Olongapo with some of my relatives. In its entirety, I lived in the Philippines for a total of 3+ years going to Catholic schools where music and sports were my magical havens. I was simultaneously playing in the Cities Basketball League with some of my classmates and also ran track with the school.

When moving back to Los Angeles in 2007 (where I worked on finishing my HS Diploma), music was not my main focus. I eventually joined the military (USAF) and enlisted for 6 years, up till 2014. I would say I first discovered electronic music around 2012, by way of Skrillex. When I moved back to Los Angeles in 2014, I immediately immersed myself in the nightlife scene as a promoter and an avid supporter. At the end of the year, I made a impromptu call to move to San Francisco due to some personal reasons. Even in San Francisco, I wasn't slow on getting my feet wet and eventually was working for an independent music event company by undertaking product related roles while having a typical "9 to 5" job moving into tech.


In 2015 I found the underground house and techno scene where I really evolved into what you see today. Since then I have quickly picked up the skill of DJ'ing in 2017 at 27yrs old and has since worked with majority of SF's favorite local DJ collectives and have supported the likes of Justin Martin, Walker & Royce, Sacha Robotti, Steve Darko, Ramon Tapia, Tim Baresko, Bontan, Rebūke, Worthy, BLK&WHT, NIMA G, Willaa, n808, Antonio Manigrassi, Jayvi Velasco, NEY x MISS MAK, Emanate, Dymonds, JustJovani, Michael Bricker, Alex Sibley (+ many more unmentioned DJ/Producers) through night clubs, private events, or renegade productions.

With a smooth/weivy style of mixing, creating live remixes with different genres and my variety in song selections, I began playing at various after-hour events, daytime clubs, renegade sound camps and a couple festivals in California. Ever since I've began playing, I have also brought in out-of-state talents to play at local events and have hosted some of my own Weivy shows to showcase some Wei talented friends. Currently I hold a residency at Halcyon (arguably one of the city's most prominent House and Techno clubs) and have helped nurture a growing community of music lovers in San Francisco.

Depending on the time of the day, my DJ sets may consist of a mixture between House, Techno, Funky, Disco, and even a bit Indie. Each and every set I curate will have my audience feeling some type of Wei. I have a collection of mixes on Soundcloud for your listening pleasure. Feel free to follow to stay in-tuned for any future productions!


I've also created a one-of-a-kind limited-edition DirtyBird X DesertHeart "DirtyHeart" pendant incorporating 2 MAJOR House and Techno influences that helped inspire me as a person as well as a musician.

Currently my merchandise gives back 50% of profits to Agape International Missions,

which helps to stop human trafficking and providing change for the victims involved.


My WEi To San Francisco

Born in Harbin, China; adopted and moved to Los Angles for roughly 6 years; moved to Malaysia for about 5 years for Elementary school, then 4 years in various places in Florida for Middle School and a some of High School, then the Philippines for 3 years+ while in High School, then back to Los Angeles to finish my HS Diploma. Joined the US Air Force in 2008 at 19 years old as an Aircraft Mechanic and then spent my time in various places around the globe.


When I left the military in 2014 at 25 years old, I moved back to Los Angeles. After a few months in various locations in Los Angeles, I moved to San Jose. Through some unfortunate circumstances, I was homeless for 4 months (living out of my car). Mid 2015 I found a place in Daly City and in 2016 I moved to Castro Valley. Moved around between SF and Oakland for a bit, but finally settling down in San Francisco at the end of 2017 and have loved it since. 


WEi As An Athlete

Started in track & field at the age of 10 in Elementary while in Malaysia. Ran track & played football in Middle School while in Florida. Competed aggressively in track & field, as well as basketball in High School while in the Philippines. While competing in High School for track & field, I placed 2nd in Nationals with a personal best of 10.2 seconds in the 100 meter sprint. While playing for the schools basketball team, I was also competing in a city-wide basketball league playing as a center where we placed 2nd against mostly adults.


After I joined the US Air Force directly after High School, I became an Aircraft Structural Maintainer and had additional duties as a Personal Training Leader & served as a Fitness Program Manager for my squadron, while simultaneously training and competing in MMA & Jiu-Jitsu for roughly 4 years; 3 to 5 days a week. I have coached fights and taught self-defense techniques to joint military forces while being deployed overseas fixing airplanes.


After the military, I helped run a Jiu-Jitsu club at the Las Positas Community College in Northern California for 2 semesters and have since gotten back in training at various locations in the bay. Currently at 32 years old, as of 2022 returning to Jiu-Jitsu competitions near the Bay Area soon!



WEi "Professional" Experience

As for my professional career, I started with 6 years of military experience in the US Air Force as an Aircraft Structural Mechanic, grew to take on additional responsibilities as a Squadron Fitness Program Manager, and was a Personal Training Leader while actively training and competing in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, Muai-Thai and a variety of Mixed Martial Arts. In 2014 I separated from the US Air Force with an honorable discharge and have since been working in the tech & start-up industry.


After my military career, I quickly learned the ropes and excelled in my contract roles, which began my journey through various tech companies in San Francisco. During these years of learning and progressing in a professional "9 to 5" timespan, I also freelanced for an event hosting company that was focused on music. I began to organize events, book talent, and helped create and grow its website as a Product Manager and helped with its social media accounts and promoted for events around the city.


The more I was working with music, the more I started on building my own brand as a DJ and Producer. In the past I have worked with SF collectives in regards to co-producing events, assisting in graphic design, and also produced a few of my own Weivy productions. Most recent I have been creating events that help non-profit organizations that directly effect your local communities.


One of my past full-time roles was at Facebook where I had the chance to lead and scale new projects and helped create real impact for the online community. Since then I've also contracted at Google as a Sr Product Analyst, developing myself into a future Product Manager. Conveniently my next and current role is very much a stepping stone in becoming a better Product Manager. Doing all this while also creating a name for myself as a DJ and Music Producer in San Francisco.


Currently I have a total of 10+ years of work experience with 7+ yrs in product and 7+ yrs freelancing part-time in the music/technology community.


To find out more about my professional career, feel free to check out my LinkedIn and lets connect!

131 views0 comments